Society Awards 2013


The annual Society Awards are an opportunity for our volunteers to get some recognition for all of their hard work over the academic year (and a chance for free drinks and pizza!), and this year’s awards did not disappoint! With 294 nominations, 18 awards and all of our amazing volunteers, the competition was tough and after 4 hours of deliberations between the Societies Leadership Committee, here are the results:


Promoters of the Year

Winner: Consultancy Society

Best Grant Application

Winner: Musical Theatre Society

Highly Commended: Dance Society

Event of the Year

Winner: Snowsports Society – Les Arcs

Highly Commended: Debating Society – Schools Competition

Best New Society

Winner: Film and TV Society

Highly Commended: Hindu Society, MARS Society

Affiliated and Faith Society of the Year

Winner: Islamic Society

Highly Commended: LINKS Society

Course Based Society of the Year

Winner: Architecture Society

Highly Commended: Maths Society

Cultural Society of the Year

Winner: Human Rights Society

Highly Commended: LGBT Society

Performance Society of the Year

Winner: Dance Society

Highly Commended: Musical Theatre Society

Sports Society of the Year

Winner: Snowsports Society

Special Interest Society of the Year

Winner: Debating Society

Highly Commended: Consultancy Society, Gaming and Roleplay Society

George Le Bug Photo of the Year

Winner: Paintball Society

Unsung Hero

Winner: Georgina Bunn (Drama Society)

Highly Commended: Mozin Ali (Musical Theatre Society)

Committee Member of the Year

Winner: Ria Wilkinson (Debating Society)

Highly Commended: John Martinez (Gaming and Roleplay Society), Sam Tetlow (Debating Society)

Treasurer of the Year

Winner: Charlotte Adley (Dance Society)

Highly Commended: Naomi Roxby-Wardle (Musical Theatre Society)

Secretary of the Year

Winner: Tim Cooper (Debating Society)

Highly Commended: Sarah Price (Dance Society), James Clark (Snowsports Society)

President of the Year

Winner: Hannah Taylor (Dance Society)

Highly Commended: Kirsty Adamson (Debating Society), Hamza Mahmudov (Islamic Society)

Societies Leadership Committee Member of the Year

Winner: Sam Covins (Mentor)

Becky Warburton Most Improved Society Award

Winner: Dance Society

Highly Commended: Human Rights Society


All of the nominees this year were absolutely amazing! It was so hard choosing just one winner for each category, which shows just how fantastic all of our societies are. I hope going into next year that we can build on this year’s successes and make our societies even more successful and amazing than they already are!


Pin It